Meet My Friends, GRIEF & GRATITUDE

How I face loss and death these days

David Jurasek
11 min readApr 14, 2019

What to do when you suffer a loss so great it swallows you whole?

How do you carry on living when death comes knocking, taking a piece of your heart with it?

Who am I to tell you what to do?

Instead, I want you to meet two dear friends of mine, both of whom comfort me through my periods of sorrow and also help me to make sense of it all.

Their names are Grief and Gratitude.

Grief is an old crone, whom I have come to trust with my life.

Gratitude is her young and beautiful daughter, whom I am just really getting to know the depths of.

They are both judged by their covers, often misunderstood, misrepresented, lauded and feared even.

Recently, they have helped me to learn from cancer and to embrace whole-heartedly the certainty of Death (we’ll get to know him another time).

I believe that if you get to know these two dear friends of mine, yourself, you will get all the answers you seek.

Ready to meet them?

The First Time I Met

--

--

David Jurasek

Imperfect man wrestling with the paradox of being powerful and loving. Find me and our dojo at: www.powerfulandloving.com